City of York Council

Resolutions and proceedings of the Annual Meeting of the City of York Council held in the Guildhall, York on Thursday, 21st May, 2015, starting at 11.00 am

Present: The Lord Mayor Councillor Ian Gillies, in the Chair, during the first part of the meeting; the Lord Mayor Councillor Sonja Crisp in the Chair for the second part of the meeting, and the following Councillors:

| Acomb Ward | Bishopthorpe Ward |
|-------------------------------|--------------------------------|
| S Barnes K Myers | Galvin |
| Clifton Ward | Copmanthorpe Ward |
| D Myers Wells | Carr |
| Dringhouses & Woodthorpe Ward | Fishergate Ward |
| Fenton Mason Reid | D'Agorne Taylor |
| Fulford and Heslington Ward | Guildhall Ward |
| Aspden | Craghill Flinders Looker |
| Haxby & Wigginton Ward | Heworth Ward |
| Cuthbertson | Boyce Williams |
| Heworth Without Ward | Holgate Ward |
| Ayre | Cannon Crisp Derbyshire |

| Hull Road Ward | Huntington and New Earswick Ward |
|------------------------------------|----------------------------------|
| N Barnes Levene Shepherd | Cullwick Orrell Runciman |
| Micklegate Ward | Osbaldwick and Derwent Ward |
| Gunnell Hayes Kramm | Brooks Warters |
| Rawcliffe and Clifton Without Ward | Rural West York Ward |
| Dew Lisle Rawlings | Gillies Steward |
| Strensall Ward | Westfield Ward |
| Doughty Douglas | Hunter Jackson Waller |
| Wheldrake Ward | |

Mercer

Apologies for absence were received from Councillors Gates, Richardson and Funnell

Also in attendance: Honorary Aldermen M Bwye, R Carr, M Kirk, J Morley, R Pulleyn, R Watson, I Waudby, D Wilde and K Wood

1. Declarations of Interest

Members were invited to declare at this point in the meeting any personal interests not included on the Register of Interests, any prejudicial interests or any disclosable pecuniary interests they might have in the business on the agenda. No further interests were declared.

2. Appointment of Lord Mayor

Councillor Dave Taylor moved, Councillor Julie Gunnell seconded and the Council unanimously

Resolved: That Councillor Sonja Crisp of 88 Manor Drive

North, Holgate, York YO26 5RY, be elected Lord

Mayor of the City of York for the ensuing

municipal year.

3. Qualification of Lord Mayor

Councillor Sonja Crisp signified Acceptance of the Office of the Lord Mayor of the City of York, subscribed the Declaration of such acceptance and took the Oath of Allegiance prescribed by the law in that behalf.

4. Appointment of Sheriff

Councillor Julie Gunnell moved, Councillor Keith Orrell seconded and Council unanimously

Resolved: That Mr Brian Smith, of Windfall Lodge, Clay Lane,

Breighton, Selby YO8 6BH, be appointed Sheriff of the

City of York for the ensuing municipal year.

5. Qualification of Sheriff

Mr Brian Smith made and subscribed the Declaration of Acceptance of Office of Sheriff for the City of York Council and took the Oath of Allegiance prescribed by law in that behalf.

6. Appointment of Deputy Lord Mayor

Councillor Sonja Crisp as Lord Mayor moved, Councillor Chris Steward seconded and the Council unanimously

Resolved: That Councillor Ian Gillies, of 6 Chantry Grove,

Upper Poppleton, York YO26 6DQ be appointed Deputy Lord Mayor for the ensuing municipal

year

7. Qualification of Deputy Lord Mayor

Councillor Ian Gillies made and subscribed the Declaration of Acceptance of Office of Deputy Lord Mayor for the City of York Council and took the Oath of Allegiance prescribed by law.

8. Lord Mayor's Chaplain

The Lord Mayor advised Council that she had appointed Reverend John Lee to serve as her Chaplain during her year of office.

9. Sheriffs Chaplain and Under Sheriff

The Sheriff advised Council that he had appointed Reverend Rory Dalgliesh to serve as his Chaplain and Mr John Howard to serve as his Under Sheriff during his year of office.

10. Vote of Thanks to the Outgoing Lord Mayor and Lady Mayoress

Councillor Chris Steward moved, Councillor Carol Runciman seconded and Council unanimously

Resolved: That the Council express its sincere thanks to the

outgoing Lord Mayor and Lady Mayoress for their services to the City during the past municipal

year.

11. Vote of Thanks to the Outgoing Sheriff and Sheriff's Lady

Councillor Janet Looker moved, Councillor Ian Cuthbertson seconded and Council unanimously

Resolved: That the Council express its sincere thanks to the

outgoing Sheriff and Sheriff's Lady for their services to the City during the past municipal

year.

12. Formal Business of Council - Allocations to Seats and Appointments to the Council Structure and Outside Bodies 2015/16

With reference to the recommendations contained in paragraph 18 of the report at page 7 of the Council papers, Councillor Galvin moved the recommendations, which were seconded by Councillor Runciman, namely the appointment of a Council Leader and the allocation of places and Councillors to Committees and other bodies for 2015/16, as shown in the republished papers circulated at the meeting.

It was then

Resolved: That Council

- (i) Agree the allocation of seats in accordance with the revised arrangements at Annex A circulated at the meeting and republished online;
- (ii) Approve the nominations to Committees and outside or partnership bodies, including the appointment of Chairs and Vice-Chairs to Committees, at Annex B, as circulated at the meeting and set out online in the republished papers for the meeting.
- (iii) Approve the appointment of Councillor Aspden to Heslington Parish Council, pending the election to fill the Parish Council vacancies. 1.

Reason: To fulfil the Council's statutory requirements.

Action Required

Arrange to update memberships and inform
Outside Bodies of the nominations.

JP

Cllr Sonja Crisp LORD MAYOR OF YORK [The meeting started at 11.00 am and concluded at 12.00 pm]

